Misdemeanor Assault Attorney in Kansas City
Experienced Criminal Defense Firm
When an act of violence occurs, from a quarrel between two people to a larger fight amongst several individuals, police officers are called to show up and make arrests of those perpetrating the event. Unfortunately, in the heat of the moment, members of law enforcement often arrest an innocent person, or completely misconstrue the actual contexts and circumstances of the supposed assault. When you are facing assault charges, even a seemingly minor one such as a misdemeanor assault can wreak havoc on your reputation and your liberty. Reach out to Steve Schanker, Attorney at Law to have a trustworthy misdemeanor assault lawyer in Kansas City on your side.
Contact him now at (816) 607-8860 to ask any questions you may have about assault misdemeanors in Missouri.
Types of Misdemeanor Assaults in Missouri
The state of Missouri declares that the crime of assault is organized into several primary categories: different degrees of felony assault, ranging from first to third degree, as well as misdemeanor assaults. Although the assaults in this final category are categorized as misdemeanors, these crime charges are still very serious, with differing levels of penalties for the different classes of misdemeanors.
Some common examples of misdemeanor assault in Missouri according to Missouri Ann. Stat. § 565.070. include:
- Threatening someone else to the point that they believe they will be greatly harmed.
- Recklessly inflicting some form of physical injury or suffering to another person.
- Trying to injure another individual, with or without a dangerous weapon.
- Behaving in a reckless manner that could kill or greatly injure another person.
- Purposefully offending or provoking another individual with physical contact or gestures.
- Purposefully seeking to provoke or offend someone who has been incapacitated.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Assaults
While the punishment for more severe levels of assault is more extreme – such as assault to the first and second degree – it is a major mistake to view the consequences of misdemeanor assault as light or inconsequential. If you received a lower-level classification of a misdemeanor assault, you could face 15 days in jail and have to pay $500 in fines. However, any prior charges could automatically transform your charge into a Class A misdemeanor, resulting in a full year of prison.
No matter what level of misdemeanor conviction you face, it is critical to know that it will permanently stain your record. Any future charges will incur harsher sentences of course, but even if you were never convicted of a crime for the rest of your life, you would still be hindered by your record every time you attempt to apply for a job, rent a home, or even seek a loan.
The Importance of Powerful Representation
One of the most terrifying aspects of a misdemeanor assault charge is that they can be interpreted differently by the prosecution. Even if you were only acting in self-defense, prosecutors can portray you as behaving recklessly, or somehow claim that you were intentionally planning on committing the assault all along. Having a powerful misdemeanor assault attorney in Kansas City can make all the difference in showing your side of the story to the court.
Act now to protect your license! You only have 14-15 days to request a hearing.Protect your license
Know Your Next Steps
Wondering what happens after your DUI arrest? We have answers.Get informed now
Ready To Talk?
Contact us today! We will evaluate your case for free right now.Get started