Missouri DWI & DUI Defense Attorney
Aggressive Legal Defense for DWI and DUI Charges in Kansas City
Per Missouri DWI law - R.S.Mo. 577.010, "A person commits the crime of driving while intoxicated if he operates a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated or drugged condition". If you have been caught in the net of the criminal justice system in Missouri, you need to know what penalties you could be facing, and how to go about defending against the charges against you. Kansas City DWI Lawyer Steve Schanker is prepared to review your case at once.
First Offense: Class B misdemeanor.
- JAIL: Up to a maximum of 6 months imprisonment
- FINE: Up to $500.00
- PROBATION: Two years with conditions to complete the SATOP program (substance abuse evaluation and education/treatment), obey all laws, and in some jurisdictions to perform community service hours, attend a Mothers Against Drunk Driving Victim Panel, and not possess or consume alcohol subject to random testing.
- SUSPENSION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES: 30 day suspension of driving privileges followed by a 60 day restricted driving period, or 90 days ignition interlock restricted privileges.
What are the Penalties for DWI/DUI in Missouri?
Second Offense: Class A misdemeanor.
- JAIL: Up to a maximum of one year imprisonment (must serve at least 10 days in jail if the prior offense was within 5 years).
- FINE: Up to $1,000.00
- PROBATION: Two years with similar conditions as above.
- REVOCATION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES: A one year revocation depending on the date of the prior occurrence and ignition interlock (5 year denial of driver's license if a second conviction within 5 years).
- Must serve at least 10 days in jail if the prior offense was within 5 years.
Third or Subsequent Offense: Felony.
- JAIL: Up to fifteen years in prison (must serve at least 30 days to 2 years depending on the number of prior offenses).
- FINE: Up to $5,000.00
- PROBATION: At a minimum, a defendant will have to serve 10 days in jail, however, months in jail are more likely to be demanded before being released on probation for 2 to 5 years.
- REVOCATION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES: 10 year denial.
What to do After Getting a DWI/DUI in Missouri
If you have been arrested for driving with a very high blood alcohol content, the penalties and risks can be even higher. If you act fast to hire an aggressive Kansas City DWI attorney, you may be able to avoid these penalties.
It is vital that you take defensive measures now, not only to prevent the immediate consequences of a guilty conviction, but to protect your future. Many people found guilty of drunk driving will have trouble getting quality employment after a conviction. Winning a DWI case depends on the evidence, and if it can be proven that the arresting officer violated your rights with:
- Unlawful police stop
- Errors in the breath and blood test
- Errors in the field sobriety test
The Experience Needed to Strategize an Aggressive Defense on Your Behalf
Attorney Steve Schanker is licensed to practice law in both Missouri and Kansas and has defended numerous clients on DWI charges over the past 25+ Years.
He has an excellent reputation in the local courts and is proud of his winning record. When you come to his office he will take time to answer all your questions and determine what will be the best strategy for your case.
He is prepared to fight your charges in court but is also capable of negotiating a fair plea bargain if you want to focus on limiting the damage and possibly avoid a conviction. Missouri DWI penalties can have a profound impact on your family and professional life and Attorney Schanker can give you the winning edge.
Contact a Kansas City DWI attorney City DWI attorney when you face charges for DWI and need an aggressive defense lawyer.
Act now to protect your license! You only have 14-15 days to request a hearing.Protect your license
Know Your Next Steps
Wondering what happens after your DUI arrest? We have answers.Get informed now
Ready To Talk?
Contact us today! We will evaluate your case for free right now.Get started