Kansas DUI Attorney
Arrested for DUI in Kansas State?
A DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) in the state of Kansas consists of operating a motor vehicle or attempting to operate one when your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher on a chemical test within 3 hours of driving or when your ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired by the consumption of alcohol and/or drugs.
If you are arrested or charged with any type of DUI in Kansas, it is crucial that you seek professional legal help from a Kansas DUI lawyer at the law firm of Steve Schanker as soon as possible. Mr. Schanker has more than nineteen years of DUI defense experience with which to assist you. Contact the firm today to discuss your case and find a solution to your charges!
First DUI Conviction
A first conviction is charged as a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by jail time of forty-eight hours to six months, with a mandatory serving of at least forty-eight hours of the sentence, $750 to $1,000 in fines, a driver's license suspension of thirty days to one year, followed by an ignition interlock device, and mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation and counseling or treatment.
A second conviction is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. Penalties include jail time of ninety days to one year, serving at least five days of that sentence (work release or house arrest is possible after 48 hours), fines of $1250 to $1750, a driver's license suspension of one year, followed by an ignition interlock device, and mandatory alcohol or drug evaluation and counseling or treatment.
A third conviction is charged as a felony if a prior conviction was within the last 10 years. Otherwise, it is a Class A misdemeanor. Penalties include jail time of ninety days to one year, with at least ninety days of the sentence served (work release or house arrest is possible after 48 hours). Fines will be assessed between $1750 and $2500. A driver's license suspension of one year will be followed by an ignition interlock device as well as mandatory alcohol or drug evaluation and treatment or counseling.
Reach Out to Steve Schanker, Attorney at Law!
Looking for a DUI lawyer in Kansas City? Attorney Schanker will prepare a comprehensive defense for your trial or work on your behalf to reduce charges or negotiate for the minimum of penalties or for alternate programs, such as house arrest or work release.
Contact a Kansas City DUI attorney if you are facing a DUI in Kansas today.
Act now to protect your license! You only have 14-15 days to request a hearing.Protect your license
Know Your Next Steps
Wondering what happens after your DUI arrest? We have answers.Get informed now
Ready To Talk?
Contact us today! We will evaluate your case for free right now.Get started