Missouri DWI Penalties
What are the consequences for DWI in Kansas City?
If you are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Missouri, you face stiff penalties. Law enforcement in the state takes drunk driving seriously and will do everything possible to prevent a second occurrence by doling out heavy punishments for first-time offenders, followed by proportionately heavier sentences for multiple convictions. The penalties for DWI can cause a major disruption to your life, both from the short-term inconveniences and costs associated with jail time and fines as well as from the embarrassment and difficulty that accompany probation and alcohol treatment. Here is a summary of the possible sentences for DWI:
- First Offense - Class B misdemeanor with up to 6 months of imprisonment and $500 in fines. Driver's license suspension for 30 days, followed by a 60-day restricted driving period. Two years of probation, including strict adherence to all laws, random testing for alcohol consumption, alcohol treatment, and education, and possible community service and installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
- Second Offense - Class A misdemeanor with up to one year of imprisonment and $1,000 in fines. Terms of probation will be similar as for a first offense, but probation will not be granted until some jail time has been served. The driver's license will be suspended for up to 1 year, depending on how long it has been since the first occurrence. Must serve at least 10 days in jail if the prior offense was within 5 years.
- Third or Subsequent Offense - Felony with up to five years in prison, fines up to $5,000, and a 10-year revocation of driver's license. Probation will only be granted after some time behind bars and the term of probation will last between 3 and 5 years.
Beyond the obvious challenges and difficulties posed by these penalties, you will face the long-term disadvantage that attaches itself to people who have a criminal record. Many companies will not hire employees who cannot pass a background check. If you work with an aggressive Kansas City DWI lawyer you may be able to escape a conviction or have your charges reduced.
Looking for a DWI attorney in Kansas City, Missouri?
When you meet with Attorney Steve Schanker, he will take the time to answer all your questions about DWI and your rights under Missouri law. He has over 25+ Years of experience representing clients accused of drunk driving in Kansas City and he takes pride in helping people who need legal defense. He charges reasonable rates and accepts payment plans. Whether you want to go to trial and fight to prove your innocence or if you prefer to control the damage by seeking a plea bargain, he is prepared to work diligently to achieve a successful outcome for you and your family.
Act now to protect your license! You only have 14-15 days to request a hearing.Protect your license
Know Your Next Steps
Wondering what happens after your DUI arrest? We have answers.Get informed now
Ready To Talk?
Contact us today! We will evaluate your case for free right now.Get started