Missouri Driver's License Hearings
Driver's License Hearings Lawyer in Kansas City
When you blow over the legal limit or you refuse to blow, the police officer takes your driver's license and issues you a 15-day permit with instructions on how to apply for a hearing. If you blew over the legal limit, you must request a hearing within 15 days or face automatic suspension of your license. If you request a hearing within the time limits, your permit is extended until the case is over.
The hearing officer decides whether the police had reasonable grounds to arrest you for DWI and whether you tested over the legal limit. If you win, you get your license back. If you lose, your license will be suspended for at least thirty days up to one year, and in rare circumstances for multiple years. Reinstatement requirements may include alcohol counseling, SR-22 insurance filings, a reinstatement fee, and possibly ignition interlock.
Team up with a Kansas City DWI lawyer from our firm for help at your hearing!
Need an attorney for a driver’s license hearing in Kansas City?
If you refused the test, you must file a Petition for Review in the Circuit Court within thirty days. Filing a petition does not automatically extend your 15-day permit, so a Stay Order must be requested from the judge to extend your permit until the case is over. The judge determines whether the police had reasonable grounds to arrest you for DWI and whether you truly refused to take the test.
If you lose, the judge revokes your license for a year and in rare cases for multiple years. Reinstatement requirements may include alcohol counseling, SR-22 filings, a reinstatement fee, and possibly ignition interlock, plus re-testing for your license.
Whether you hold a CDL (commercial driver's license) or a regular license, you need to know that you have an attorney that has a proven record in resolving these issues successfully. Attorney Steve Schanker has over 25+ Years of experience and knows how to fight for your right to drive in the administrative hearing.
It is important to contact a Kansas City DWI attorney experienced in driver's license hearings and procedures to have the winning edge. Call now for a free consultation.
Act now to protect your license! You only have 14-15 days to request a hearing.Protect your license
Know Your Next Steps
Wondering what happens after your DUI arrest? We have answers.Get informed now
Ready To Talk?
Contact us today! We will evaluate your case for free right now.Get started