Prior DUI Convictions in Kansas City
Penalties for 2nd, 3rd and 4th DUI Offenses
first-time DUI charge may result in a relatively light sentence, the case is much more
difficult for a subsequent
DUI sentencing in both Missouri and Kansas is much tougher with mandatory minimum jail
time, higher fines, longer periods of probation and additional long term
consequences such as ignition interlock. Recent legislation has updated
the possible sentences for subsequent DUI:
Second Conviction - Class A misdemeanor with fines between $1,250 and $1,750
and a jail sentence of 90 days to one year (of which 5 days are mandatory
and work release or house arrest is possible after 48 hours). Your car
will have an
ignition interlock device installed to test your breath for alcohol every time you start
the car. Your license will be suspended for one year and you will be subject
to mandatory alcohol evaluation and treatment
- Third Conviction - Class A misdemeanor (unless your prior is within the
last 10 years in which case it becomes a felony). Fines increase to $1,750
to $2,250. The sentencing range is the same but 90 day jail is mandatory
(work release or house arrest is possible after 48 hours). Driver's
license suspension and ignition interlock, along with mandatory alcohol
evaluation and treatment is also required.
- Fourth or subsequent conviction - Felony, $1,750 to $2,500 in fines, 90
days to one year sentence (90 days mandatory and work release or house
arrest is possible after 48 hours). Driver's license suspension, ignition
interlock and mandatory alcohol evaluation and treatment required.
- More likely than not, in multiple DUI cases, the prosecutor will demand
and the judge will impose many months in jail or some combination of many
months of jail followed by work release or house arrest.
If you are facing any of these situations, it is easy to give up hope of
resolving the charges, but an experienced
Kansas City DUI attorney may be able to help you build a defense to prove you innocent or have
the sentence reduced.
- Second Conviction - Class A Misdemeanor with fines up to $1,000.00 and
jail up to one year (must serve at least 10 days in jail if the prior
offense was within 5 years). Probation will be required for two years
with conditions to attend alcohol treatment and be tested for alcohol
and drugs. Driver's license revoked for one year depending on the
date of the prior occurrence and ignition interlock (5-year denial of
driver's license if a second conviction within 5 years).
- Third and Subsequent Conviction - Felony with up to fifteen years in prison
(must serve at least 30 days to 2 years depending on the number of prior
offenses). Probation for 2-5 years. Driver's license will be denied
for ten years.
Looking for a Strong DWI Lawyer in Kansas City?
Attorney Steve Schanker has
more than 20 years of experience defending clients on DUI/DWI charges and is licensed to practice in both
Kansas and Missouri. He knows what a difficult time this is for you and
he charges very reasonably to make legal defense available to people in
trouble. He will meet with you to determine the best strategy for your
case, whether to fight the case in court or seek a plea bargain to limit
The most important thing you can do to protect your future is to seek legal
help now and take action before the case progresses further.
Contact a Kansas City DWI lawyer when you face DUI charges and have a prior conviction.