MO Limited Driving Privileges & License Restoration
Helping Clients Throughout Missouri Regain Their Driving Freedoms
A Missouri DWI conviction can not only result in jail time and fines but
revoked driving privileges as well. Depending on the nature of your offense,
prior offenses and other influencing factors, your driver’s license
may get suspended for several years.
Without a driver’s license, you will have difficulty going to work,
school, appointments, shops, and taking care of your children’s
needs. Kansas City doesn’t have the best public transportation system
and using ridesharing companies can rack up high costs, therefore your
livelihood may suffer immensely without a driver’s license.
Luckily, there’s a way to restore your license and gain limited driving
privileges. When you hire
Attorney Steve Schanker to advocate for your best interests, he will work tirelessly to help you
secure the means to get where you need to go and, ultimately, survive.
free consultation by calling (816) 607-8860 to get started!
What Is a Limited Driving Privilege Order?
Order for Limited Driving Privileges requires a driver to have an ignition interlock device (IID) containing
a camera and GPS unit on any vehicle they operate as well as carry an
SR-22 proof of insurance form at all times. Both requirements continue
for the duration of the limited driving privilege.
Limited driving privileges may include, but are not limited to, places
like work, school, medical, childcare, court-ordered child visitation,
church, bank, post office, shopping for necessities, fitness and other
reasons deemed necessary by the judge after your hearing.
5- and 10-year Driver’s License Denials
Upon receiving a second DWI within 5 years of a prior DWI, your Missouri
driver’s license will be denied by the Department of Revenue for
5 years. With a lawyer, you may file a petition requesting an Order for
Limited Driving Privileges in the circuit court where you live or work.
Upon receiving a third DWI or excessive blood alcohol concentration (BAC)
charge in a lifetime, your Missouri driver’s license will be denied
by the Department of Revenue for 10 years.
If your most current DWI is classified as a felony, you must wait 5 years
before filing this petition. As soon as you’re notified of a 5-
or 10-year denial, you may get started on filing your petition.
Restoration of a Driver’s License after a 5- or 10-year Denial:
Attorney Steve Schanker can help you file a petition for Restoration of
Driving Privileges in the circuit court where you live or work, though
it is subject to certain statutory exceptions. He will review your case
closely to determine if exceptions apply on your behalf.
At your evidentiary hearing, the Judge will review your criminal history
and driving record. Then, they may issue an order for Limited Driving
Privileges after your hearing if they find that:
- you didn’t have any alcohol-related enforcement contacts since the
issuance of your license denial
- your prohibition to drive results in an undue hardship
- your habits and conduct show that you no longer pose a threat to the public’s safety
It is customary for a judge to require you to install and maintain an IID
in your vehicle for six months to one year as a condition of your license
Ready to Begin the Process? Call Today!
There is no better team to guide you through every stage of the process
than our Kansas City DUI lawyers. With over 25 years of experience and
a proven, award-winning track record for getting favorable outcomes, Attorney
Schanker is equipped with the competence and legal tools you need to navigate
your request for limited driving privileges.
Get started on your journey to a better livelihood.
Contact (816) 607-8860 to schedule a free consultation today!