Need a lawyer to fight against possible DUI penalties in Kansas City?

The penalties for DUI offenses in Missouri are harsh. With the help of a skilled attorney you may be able to fight for a lesser offense or challenge the evidence in your case. In Missouri, there is the option of receiving a plea bargain for a "wet reckless" conviction rather than a DUI. Wet reckless means reckless driving involving alcohol, which has lesser penalties than a DUI conviction. If you are unable to obtain this plea bargain, you may be facing strict penalties. Looking for a DUI attorney in Kansas City? Team up with a Kansas City DUI lawyer from our firm right away. The breakdown of DUI penalties in Missouri, include:

First DUI Conviction:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Fines of up to $500
  • 30 day license suspension
  • 60 day license restriction after the suspension is complete
  • License reinstatement fee of $45
  • Possible ignition interlock device

Second DUI Conviction

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • One year license suspension
  • $45 license reinstatement fee
  • Ignition interlock device after license reinstatement

Third DUI Conviction

  • Up to four years in jail
  • Fines of up to $5,000
  • 10 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • $45 license reinstatement fee

The ignition interlock device is a common penalty in order to ensure that the defendant does not drink and drive in the future. This device requires the driver to breathe into a device that will test their breath for alcohol. If the device senses alcohol, the car will not start. Also, the driver will have to continuously perform breath tests into the device to guarantee that they are not consuming alcohol at any point. If you are facing the risk of a DUI conviction, you need the best DUI lawyer in Kansas City. Steve Schanker, Attorney at Law offers a free case evaluation, call today to see how our firm may be able to help you!