If you have been charged with a DUI in Kansas, you are required to install an ignition interlock device. This device will measure the blood alcohol content (BAC) in the driver's breath and will prevent the vehicle from starting if the BAC level is too high.
The device also requires periodic retests while the vehicle is still running, with any failed or missed tests being reported to the DMV and the court. Violating the ignition interlock device penalties could result in suspended license, fines and possible jail time.
Are Ignition Interlock Devices Effective?
Statistics show that up to one-third of convicted drunk drivers become repeat offenders. By preventing drunk drivers from being able to start their vehicles in the first place, IIDs work to eliminate the temptation to get behind the wheel while intoxicated. In fact, according to Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD), ignition interlocks are effective in reducing repeat drunk driving offenses by 67 percent compared to license suspension alone – with a 39 percent reduction in repeat offenses even after the devices are removed.
How Long Must I Have an IID?
The length of time a driver in Kansas will be required to have an IID in their vehicle will vary depending on their number of DUI convictions and whether or not they refused to submit to a breath test.
For a simple breath test failure, IID sentencing is as follows:
- First offense: 6 months to 1 year IID use
- Second offense: 2 year IID use
- Third offense: 3 year IID use
- Fourth offense: 4 year IID use
- Fifth or subsequent offense: 10 year IID use
Drivers must also pay to have the devices installed, maintained and uninstalled in all vehicles they own, easily totaling in the thousands over time.
Can an IID be Cheated?
Fooling an IID is not easy, and attempting to do so can have serious consequences. IIDs are designed to prevent anyone but the driver from providing a breath sample by recording and recognizing suspicious changes in breath patterns. Likewise, if a driver should attempt to bypass the device and hotwire their vehicle to start, the unit will detect that the vehicle has been started without a valid test and will require a breath test.
Charged with DUI? Call (816) 607-8860
IIDs are just one of the many restrictions and penalties a person can face if convicted of DUI. Fortunately, retaining the services of a knowledgeable attorney can reduce one’s chances of having to endure these consequences by a large margin. If you have been charged with DUI or DWI, contact Kansas City DUI Attorney Steve Schanker at once. Having been tenaciously defending the rights of drivers throughout Kansas and Missouri for more than 20 years, he can provide the powerful representation you need to guard your rights and minimize your chances of conviction.
Fill out an online form today to schedule your complimentary case review.