One of the many consequences you may face upon being convicted of
driving under the influence (DUI) or
driving while intoxicated (DWI) is having to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.
Simply put, an IID is a device that measures the level of alcohol in your
breath and prevents you from being able to start your vehicle unless you
register a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) below a certain point and
requires periodic retests while the vehicle is still running, with any
failed or missed tests being reported to the DMV and the court.
Are Ignition Interlock Devices Effective?
Statistics show that up to one-third of convicted drunk drivers become
repeat offenders. By preventing drunk drivers from being able to start
their vehicles in the first place, IIDs work to eliminate the temptation
to get behind the wheel while intoxicated. In fact, according to Mothers
Against Drunk Drivers (MADD), ignition interlocks are effective in reducing
repeat drunk driving offenses by 67 percent compared to license suspension
alone – with a 39 percent reduction in repeat offenses even after
the devices are removed.
How Long Must I Have an IID?
The length of time a driver in Kansas will be required to have an IID in
their vehicle will vary depending on their number of DUI convictions and
whether or not they refused to submit to a
For a simple breath test failure, IID sentencing is as follows:
First offense: 6 months to 1 year IID use
Second offense: 2 year IID use
Third offense: 3 year IID use
Fourth offense: 4 year IID use
Fifth or subsequent offense: 10 year IID use
Drivers must also pay to have the devices installed, maintained and uninstalled
in all vehicles they own, easily totaling in the thousands over time.
Can an IID be Cheated?
Fooling an IID is not easy, and attempting to do so can have serious consequences.
IIDs are designed to prevent anyone but the driver from providing a breath
sample by recording and recognizing suspicious changes in breath patterns.
Likewise, if a driver should attempt to bypass the device and hotwire
their vehicle to start, the unit will detect that the vehicle has been
started without a valid test and will require a breath test.
Charged with DUI? Call (816) 607-8860
IIDs are just one of the many restrictions and penalties a person can face
if convicted of DUI. Fortunately, retaining the services of a knowledgeable
attorney can reduce one’s chances of having to endure these consequences
by a large margin. If you have been charged with DUI or DWI, contact Kansas
City DUI Attorney Steve Schanker at once. Having been tenaciously defending
the rights of drivers throughout Kansas and Missouri for more than 20
years, he can provide the powerful representation you need to guard your
rights and minimize your chances of conviction.
Fill out an online form
today to schedule your complimentary case review.