Call Today for a free case evaluation 816.607.8860
1919 Buchanan St. | Kansas City, MO 64116 Additional locations throughout the metro area
Dedicated Kansas City DUI Attorney Serving Jackson, Clay, Platte, Cass, Johnson, Wyandotte and Douglas Counties

What are the Penalties for a Felony DUI?

If you have been charged with a felony offense of driving while intoxicated (DUI / DWI), you will want to develop a solid knowledge of your case and know what you are up against in Missouri & Kansas. You can be charged with a felony DUI offense if you have two or more prior offenses.

For a third offense of driving while intoxicated, you can be locked up in jail for 90 days up to a number of years. Other consequences include:

  • Mandatory drug / alcohol treatment program
  • Fine of up to $5,000.00
  • 10 year driver's license revocation
  • Installation of the Ignition Interlock Device
  • Extended probation

Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is a breath-testing device that is required in your vehicle if you are convicted of a felony DUI / OWI. In order for the vehicle to be started, the driver will need to blow into the device to prove that he or she is not operating the vehicle with any recognizable level of alcohol.

If you are stopped by a police officer for a third or subsequent charge and shown to have refused to submit to a chemical test to confirm your level of intoxication, your license will be automatically suspended. The arresting officer has the right to choose which type of test will be administered.

Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.