Call Today for a free case evaluation 816.607.8860
1919 Buchanan St. | Kansas City, MO 64116 Additional locations throughout the metro area
Dedicated Kansas City DUI Attorney Serving Jackson, Clay, Platte, Cass, Johnson, Wyandotte and Douglas Counties

Criminal Refusals

On July 1, 2012, the State of Kansas enacted a new law criminalizing the refusal or failure to complete a test of breath, blood or urine for a suspected drunk driver. The the new criminal law applies only to a suspect that has a prior refusal, conviction for DUI or a DUI diversion after 2001 and who was 18 years or older at the time. Criminal Refusal as a first offense is a Class A misdomeanor requiring a minimum of five days in jail and a $1,250.00 fine. The penalties become more harsh for repeat offenders and can result in a felony charge carrying with it a ninety-day minimum sentence and a $2,500.00 fine. The State of Kansas is clearly cracking down on repeat DUI offenders that choose to refuse a test.

Categories: DUI
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.