Call Today for a free case evaluation 816.607.8860
1919 Buchanan St. | Kansas City, MO 64116 Additional locations throughout the metro area
Dedicated DUI and Criminal Defense Attorney Serving Jackson, Clay, Platte, Cass, Johnson, Wyandotte and Douglas Counties

Kansas DUI Attorney

Kansas DUI

A DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) in the state of Kansas consists of operating a motor vehicle or attempting to operate one when your blood alcohol concentration measures .08 or higher on a chemical test within 3 hours of driving or when your ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired by the consumption of alcohol and / or drugs. If you are arrested or charged with any type of DUI in Kansas, it is crucial that you seek professional legal help from a Kansas DUI lawyer at the law firm of Steve Schanker as soon as possible. Mr. Schanker has more than nineteen years of DUI defense experience with which to assist you.

First DUI Conviction

A first conviction is charged as a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by jail time of forty-eight hours to six months, with a mandatory serving of at least forty-eight hours of the sentence, $750 to $1,000 in fines, a driver's license suspension of thirty days to one year, followed by an ignition interlock device, and mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation and counseling or treatment.

Second Conviction

A second conviction is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. Penalties include jail time of ninety days to one year, serving at least five days of that sentence, fines of $1250 to $1750, a driver's license suspension of one year, followed by an ignition interlock device, and mandatory alcohol or drug evaluation and counseling or treatment.

Third Conviction

A third conviction is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. Penalties include jail time of ninety days to one year, with at least ten days of the sentence served. Fines will be assessed between $1750 and $2500. A driver's license suspension of one year will be followed by an ignition interlock device as well as mandatory alcohol or drug evaluation and treatment or counseling.

Fourth Conviction

A fourth or subsequent conviction will be charged as a felony if prior convictions were within the previous ten years. Penalties include jail time of ninety days to one year, of which ninety days must be served, fines of $1750 to $2500, a one-year license suspension followed by an ignition interlock device, and mandatory alcohol or drug evaluation and treatment or counseling.

Looking for a DUI lawyer in Kansas City? Attorney Schanker will prepare a comprehensive defense for your trial or work on your behalf to reduce charges or negotiate for the minimum of penalties or for alternate programs, such as house arrest or work release. Contact a Kansas City DUI attorney if you are facing a DUI in Kansas today.

Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.