Call Today for a free case evaluation 816.607.8860
1919 Buchanan St. | Kansas City, MO 64116 Additional locations throughout the metro area
Dedicated DUI and Criminal Defense Attorney Serving Jackson, Clay, Platte, Cass, Johnson, Wyandotte and Douglas Counties

DUI Sentencing in Kansas City

Kansas City DUI Attorney

If a person is convicted of DUI in the Kansas City, they can expect a harsh sentence if unrepresented. To protect your rights, it is vital that you retain a Kansas City DWI attorney to help you determine your best course of action during the entire DUI process. As a trusted and proven criminal defense lawyer, Attorney Steve Schanker provides clients with over 20 years of experience in DUI cases. He is exceptionally familiar with DUI penalties, including Missouri DWI penalties as well. It is best to act quickly to have his office review your DWI charges to identify the best possible strategy for your defense.

Sentencing Laws

Depending on whether this is your first or subsequent offense, penalties in Kansas and Missouri respectively can include:

KANSAS

1st Conviction

  • Misdemeanor, Class B
  • Jail sentence of 48 hours to 6 months, $750 to $1,000.00 fine
  • Must serve at least 48 hours of the sentence
  • Suspends driver's license for 30 days to one year, followed by ignition interlock
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation and counseling/treatment

2nd Conviction

  • Misdemeanor, Class A
  • Jail sentence of 90 days to one year, $1,250.00 to $1,750.00 fine
  • Must serve at least five days of the sentence
  • Suspends driver's license for one year, followed by ignition interlock
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation and counseling/treatment

3rd Conviction

  • Misdemeanor, Class A (unless prior conviction is within last 10 years, then a felony)
  • Jail sentence of 90 days to one year, $1,750.00 to $2,500.00 fine.
  • Must serve at least 10 days of the sentence
  • Suspends driver's license for one year, followed by ignition interlock
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation and counseling/treatment

4th or Subsequent Conviction

  • Felony, Non-person (prior conviction from 2001 to present)
  • Jail sentence of 90 days to one year, $1,750.00 to $2,500.00
  • Must serve 90 days of the sentence
  • Suspends driver's license for one year, followed by ignition interlock
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation and counseling/treatment

MISSOURI

First Offense - Class B Misdemeanor

  • Up to a maximum of 6 months imprisonment
  • Up to $500.00 fine
  • Probation for two years with conditions to complete a substance abuse evaluation and education/treatment, perform community service hours, and not possess or consume alcohol subject to random testing.
  • 30 day suspension of driving privileges followed by a 60 day restricted driving period.

Second Offense - Class A Misdemeanor

  • Up to a maximum of one year imprisonment
  • Up to $1,000.00 fine
  • Probation for two years with similar conditions as above.
  • Revocation of driving privileges for at least a one year depending on the date of the prior occurrence and ignition interlock.

Third or Subsequent Offense - Felony

  • Up to five (5) years in prison.
  • Up to a $5,000.00 fine.
  • Probation for 3 to 5 years.
  • 10 year revocation of driver's license. A hardship license can only be applied for after 3 years with ignition interlock.

Looking for a DUI attorney in Kansas City? Contact a Kansas City DUI lawyer today if you have been charged with DUI.

Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.